Westshore mayors recognized by state auditor

The Westshore Council of Government cities were awarded with Auditor of State Dave Yost’s Taxpayer Hero Award on Jan. 9. Accepting the award were, from left, Rocky River Mayor Pamela Bobst, Bay Village Mayor Debbie Sutherland, Fairview Park Mayor Eileen Patton, Lakewood Mayor Michael Summers, North Olmsted Mayor Kevin Kennedy and Westlake Mayor Dennis Clough.

Bay Village Mayor Debbie Sutherland and Westlake Mayor Dennis Clough were among the Westshore leaders recognized Jan. 9 by state Auditor Dave Yost for their efforts to make the most of taxpayer dollars. Awarded to the Westshore Council of Governments, a collaborative body that includes the cities of Bay, Westlake, Rocky River, Fairview Park, North Olmsted and Lakewood, the auditor’s Taxpayer Hero Award recognizes governments that “maximize services for taxpayers while spending less.”

The Westshore COG, formed in 1971, works to increase efficiency by sharing services including SWAT, central dispatch centers, cooperative purchasing, wastewater treatment and a municipal court system. Yost also noted the volunteer Westshore Regional CERT team, which assists first responders during emergencies, for recovery efforts following Hurricane Sandy.

Auditor Yost praised the Westshore COG for its innovation and teamwork between neighboring communities, calling its success “a model for local governments considering regional cooperation.”

This is the second Taxpayer Hero Award presented by Auditor Dave Yost. The first went to Sandusky County Sheriff Kyle Overmyer last October, for cutting his jail’s costs by establishing an inmate-tended garden behind the jail and switching to a local food supplier.

Read More on Local News
Volume 5, Issue 2, Posted 11:44 AM, 01.22.2013