Bay Women's Club awards scholarships

Bay Village Women's Club scholarship recipients, from left: Evan Harms, Annamarie McGuire, Matthew Szekely, Moira Meehan, Jocelyn Joseph, Alysse Nowak, Rachel Zvara, Rachel Hamilton, Katelyn Laskowski. Photo by Eileen Cernea

The Bay Village Women’s Club Foundation is awarding $22,500 in scholarships of $2,500 each to nine outstanding Bay High School seniors. The Club recognized the students and their families May 12 during a luncheon at the Cleveland Yachting Club. The Bay High School String Quintet provided entertainment.

This year’s scholarship recipients are as follows, with their school and major:

  • Rachel Hamilton, Case Western Reserve University, cognitive science and neurology
  • Evan Harms, Kent State University, multimedia journalism
  • Jocelyn Joseph, Baldwin Wallace University, psychology and pre-medicine
  • Katelyn Laskowski, Cuyahoga Community College, criminology
  • Annamarie McGuire, West Virginia University, forensic science
  • Moira Meehan, Ohio Wesleyan University, biology and fine arts
  • Alysse Nowak, Ohio University, chemistry and pre-medicine
  • Matthew Szekely, Kent State University, music education
  • Rachel Zvara, Cleveland State University, undecided

Nancy Trainer

Bay Village Women's Club is a non-profit social and charitable organization that supports needs in the city of Bay Village.

Read More on Local News
Volume 8, Issue 10, Posted 9:45 AM, 05.17.2016