Westlake PTAs award 24 scholarships

Westlake Council of PTAs and its member PTAs are proud to announce 24 recent Westlake High School graduates as recipients of their 2017 PTA scholarships. Each recipient exhibited academic success as well as community and/or school involvement through participation in athletics, music, clubs, service and employment. Each recipient received a $1,000 award from the respective PTA unit, totaling $24,000 in scholarships awarded. 

The recipients are: Westlake Council of PTAs Scholarship – Sarmad Al-Aish, Sarah Greenberg, Mohammed Hamdan, Katarina Jamsek, Darin O’Meara and Shadi Zogheib (each a General winner), Emily Schordock (Arts), Jane Fitz (Challenge), Elizabeth Massien (STEM/Technology) and Michael Altman (Vocational); Bassett Elementary School PTA Scholarship – Carla Baaklini; Dover Elementary School PTA Scholarship – Isabel Palmer; Hilliard Elementary School PTA Scholarship – Christopher Slater; Holly Lane Elementary School PTA Scholarship – Riya Desai; Dover Intermediate School PTA Scholarship – Katherine Pavilonis; Lee Burneson Middle School PTA Scholarship – Sneha Ramachandran; Westlake High School PTSA Scholarships – Andrew Bovenzi, Anna Craven, Samantha Illius, Paul Jatsyshyn, Abigail Ogonek and Benjamin Sposet (each a General winner) and Jack Jolliffe (Service).

Since 1968, Westlake Council of PTAs has continued the proud tradition of awarding scholarships to deserving Westlake High School seniors who plan to pursue higher education at a college, university or technical school. The Westlake Council and its member PTAs fundraise for these scholarships in many ways, including the annual Dollars for Scholars basketball game, membership drives and programming.

Mary Essig

2016-2017 Westlake Council of PTAs President

Read More on Schools
Volume 9, Issue 11, Posted 10:12 AM, 06.06.2017