Letters To The Editor

Area should stay historical

This letter is in reply to Kevin DeFrank's letter in the March 23 issue of this paper. I understand the skateboard park location at Bradley Road Park had already been determined, but progress was stopped due to complaints from neighbors. Village Square merchants also complained about the skateboard park being located across the street near the Bay Way Youth Center. Why are the complaints of the neighbors and merchants okay while the historical society's complaint to placing the new skate park in a historical area becomes at odds with the interests of the community?

The same mayor and council entrusted by the Cahoon (family) Will to decide how the area should be used, passed an ordinance in the 1970s designating the area around the west side of the ravine from Wolf Road to Lake Road as a historical area. Why can't the area stay historical?

– V.L. McLeod, Bay Village

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 7, Posted 1:10 PM, 04.02.2010

Letter to the Editor

Dear Editor,

It is suggested that you edit the lines above and below the front-page title of the Observer, eliminating "YOUR" and "Written by the Citizens." Your Opinion page has printed a “vested interest” writer who is not a member of the community.  

As a long-time resident of Bay, I resent that person’s interference in our political concerns. He uses the admonishment to “let go.” He should have taken that advice several years ago when he was given that suggestion.    

My cat Harry, a resident of nine years would not presume to inform you that he is a property owner. However, he does have a true vested interest in the lifestyle in this city. Harry, a most wise, credible and respectful cat, disapproves of some existing ordinances regarding his freedom and future ordinances that would upset him. And, he particularly dislikes outsiders. 

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 3, Posted 8:36 PM, 02.06.2010

Thanks for helping us reach our goal!

Dear Editor,

Please allow us to extend a huge THANK YOU to the entire community from Lake Erie Nature & Science Center! We are thrilled to report that our non-profit organization reached our year-end “Go Wild” campaign target of $25,000 in new and increased donations! That means The Kenneth A. Scott Charitable Trust will now match all of those wonderful contributions! This generous and crucial support for our non-profit mission will help us to continue to inspire appreciation for wildlife, nature and science for tens of thousands of children and adults each year through hands-on education and wildlife rehabilitation.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 2, Posted 11:34 AM, 01.22.2010

New Year's Wish

I would love to see Westlake and Bay Village work together to follow Lakewood's lead in taking advantage of Ohio's law that authorizes cities to offer special financing to residential and commercial property owners for solar energy projects within their borders. It might be possible to work with Lakewood to get this project moving faster. Lakewood's city government is developing their plan and timeframe, to be in place and ready by the end of the year. You can read more about this by visiting www.lakewoodobserver.com and reading the article "City Spurring Solar Energy Projects," by Glenn Campbell.

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 1, Posted 3:12 PM, 01.06.2010

Bay teens deserve thanks

Dear Editor:

If you are looking for an example of courteous and friendly teens, you need look no further than the members of the Bay Village Key Club and the singing group, Choraleers. On Wednesday, November 11th, the West Shore Senior Center (located in the Knickerbocker Apartments) held a Spaghetti Dinner Fundraiser to provide the necessary funding for programs for local seniors.

Volunteers from the Key Club offered to help with the event and did they ever! This amazing group of teens helped out in all aspects of the evening and were a vital component to the success of the night. It was clear to everyone in attendance that this group of teens were dedicated to service and took pride in what they set out to do. All agreed the event would not have been as wonderful without their help.

Read Full Story
Volume 1, Issue 7, Posted 2:20 PM, 11.12.2009

Westlake Kiwanis thank public

The Westlake Kiwanis would like to thank Westlake and surrounding communities for making their recent pancake breakfast a success. The funds from their pancake breakfasts support projects throughout Westlake and surrounding communities.  
Read Full Story
Volume 1, Issue 7, Posted 10:22 PM, 11.09.2009

Vote NO on Issue 2 this November

Voting no on Issue 2 is critical to defend our freedom and the free market system.

A yes vote on Issue 2 would amend the Ohio constitution and create a Farm Care Standards Board. What it means for Ohio is that a Board not selected by voters will decide what we eat, how food is produced, including factory farming methods, drugs or chemicals used, and cloning;  treatment of animals, and the safety and quality of the food supply.

Read Full Story
Volume 1, Issue 4, Posted 7:58 PM, 10.02.2009

Westlake Hunger Project a Huge Success

I appreciate your paper’s efforts to keep voters informed on all community issues. I am happy to report that the St. Paul Thrivent Hearts Helping Hunger Campaign for the Westlake Assistance Program reached its goal of raising $1500 with a $500 supplement by the Northwest Cuyahoga County Chapter of Thrivent Financial for Lutherans.

Read Full Story
Volume 1, Issue 3, Posted 1:53 PM, 09.22.2009