Letters To The Editor

Thank you to the voters of District 16

Thank you the Bay Village, Fairview Park, North Olmsted, Rocky River and Westlake voters that cast their vote for me on Tuesday, May 4, to continue to serve as their State Representative. A special thank you to my hardworking volunteers that are ready to join me again walking door to door, host coffees and partake in the various events coming up this year. 

My top priority will continue to be focused on creating a business friendly state that strives to retain, create and bring jobs to Ohio. We have a challenging budget in 2011 with an estimated $8 billion budget deficit. Efficient, smaller government with a strong emphasis on job retention and creation is the only sustainable solution to Ohio's prosperity. 

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 10, Posted 12:25 PM, 05.13.2010

Letter to the Editor

Dear Editor,

On Tuesday, May 4, Democratic voters will have a choice between three candidates for State Representative in the area representing Bay Village, Fairview Park, North Olmsted, Rocky River and Westlake. I have been paying careful attention to this race and have been deeply impressed with Peggy Cleary. 

As a councilwoman in Fairview Park since 2005, Peggy has focused on economic development; smarter, more efficient government; and increasing green space for a better quality of life. She has a proven history of working to ensure the growth, development and future of Fairview Park. As State Representative, she will continue that effort on behalf of the district and state.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 9, Posted 2:24 PM, 04.27.2010

Letter to the Editor

Dear Editor,

I recently had a front porch conversation with Fairview Park Councilwoman, Peggy Cleary, who is taking time to go from house to house to make sure we understand how important state government will be in the coming years. As a candidate for the House of Representatives in my 16th District, she spoke of the incredibly difficult struggles facing the State of Ohio and its citizens over the next few years. 

I was struck by the knowledge and experience of this tested leader who has devoted her career to serving our community. Peggy Cleary knows and understands the concerns of families like ours who live and work in the district. She didn’t fall back on easy default answers and the bumper-sticker slogans that pass for thinking these days. She offered detailed plans to make college education affordable; spur economic development that creates jobs; and will fight for our kids and our future.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 9, Posted 2:21 PM, 04.27.2010

Let the reader beware…

Local newspapers can be a great resource for information and an important part of the fabric of our community. As Mayor of the City of Bay Village, I look at the papers as partners in disseminating information and appreciate balanced and factual reporting. While reporters and I may not always agree, we have worked hard to develop the professional relationships that ensure balance and independent reporting of the pros and cons that surround any issue.
 
For the past year, we have had a new community paper in town. For the most part, this new forum offers a free venue for many civic and community groups as well as businesses to get their message out to our residents.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 9, Posted 12:38 PM, 05.02.2010

Third Frontier will help create jobs

To the editor:

I am writing to encourage Ohio voters to support Issue 1.

Issue 1 will extend funding for the Third Frontier, a program that has stimulated economic development and job growth in Ohio since 2002. The Third Frontier has been one of the most successful programs of its kind – creating over 55,000 jobs and helping to launch over 600 companies in Ohio.

Voting yes on Issue 1 will allow Ohio to continue investing in research programs and new technology areas such as advanced and alternative energies, which is vital in attracting the best and brightest work force to Ohio. Issue 1 does not raise taxes, but will extend funding by the sale of state bonds to support successful job-focused opportunities that has received bi-partisan support.

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 9, Posted 1:55 PM, 04.22.2010

Supporter praises Peggy Cleary

To the Editor –
 
Of those running for Ohio State Representative from District 16 (Bay Village, Rocky River, Westlake, North Olmsted and Fairview Park), Peggy Cleary is the only candidate who is a life-long resident of Cleveland’s western suburbs. My husband and I were born and raised in the Chicago/Milwaukee area, and moved to Cleveland’s western suburbs in 1971. 

Raising four children and seven grandchildren in this area has been truly wonderful, thanks to dedicated public servants like Peggy Cleary. We have been blessed to have Peggy as a neighbor and a friend. Peggy has served the families and children of our community for over 20 years as a licensed social worker, bringing understanding and assistance to many citizens over the years. 

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 8, Posted 12:27 PM, 04.20.2010

Skate park public hearing April 13

To Bay Village citizens:

It's been six years, and Bay Village has rejected ten sites for a skate and bike park. Short of a lawsuit or a lack of funds, nothing will now stop construction at the northeast corner of Wolf and Cahoon. Whether we are for or against skateboarding, every one of us should care how that very visible corner will look for the next decade. We should all be concerned about supervision of the park's users. It matters to each of us whether the facility becomes an eyesore or an asset.

Tuesday, April 13, at 7:30 p.m. in City Hall, the Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on the skate and bike park proposal. It's up to you to make sure that the site is attractive and maintainable, that neighbors are buffered from noise, and that the design protects the City from liability. Your opinion matters. Your ideas are a vital part of the process.

– Conda Boyd, Bay Village
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 7, Posted 1:45 PM, 04.01.2010

League supports Westlake schools bond issue

To The Editor:

The Westlake/North Olmsted Chapter of the League of Women Voters Cuyahoga Area urges Westlake citizens to support the 3.4 mill, $84 million bond issue which will be on the May 4, 2010 ballot. Issue #14 will cost $104.16 a year per $100,000 of property value.

The LWV commends the extensive citizen involvement that preceded the decision of the Westlake Board of Education to propose this bond issue.

Today Westlake schools are rated "excellent" despite overcrowding in some buildings and deteriorating mechanical systems. The phased facilities improved plan is expected to result in reduced annual maintenance costs as well as enhanced instructional space. Dedicated bond issue funds for capital expenses can eliminate the need to drain the operating budget for emergency repairs.

The League of Women Voters recommends a "Yes" vote on Issue #14 on May 4, 2010.

Sincerely,

Janet Kershaw, Westlake/North Olmsted Chapter Chair and Co-President, League of Women Voters Cuyahoga Area

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 7, Posted 10:27 AM, 03.25.2010

Area should stay historical

This letter is in reply to Kevin DeFrank's letter in the March 23 issue of this paper. I understand the skateboard park location at Bradley Road Park had already been determined, but progress was stopped due to complaints from neighbors. Village Square merchants also complained about the skateboard park being located across the street near the Bay Way Youth Center. Why are the complaints of the neighbors and merchants okay while the historical society's complaint to placing the new skate park in a historical area becomes at odds with the interests of the community?

The same mayor and council entrusted by the Cahoon (family) Will to decide how the area should be used, passed an ordinance in the 1970s designating the area around the west side of the ravine from Wolf Road to Lake Road as a historical area. Why can't the area stay historical?

– V.L. McLeod, Bay Village

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 7, Posted 1:10 PM, 04.02.2010

Letter to the Editor

Dear Editor,

It is suggested that you edit the lines above and below the front-page title of the Observer, eliminating "YOUR" and "Written by the Citizens." Your Opinion page has printed a “vested interest” writer who is not a member of the community.  

As a long-time resident of Bay, I resent that person’s interference in our political concerns. He uses the admonishment to “let go.” He should have taken that advice several years ago when he was given that suggestion.    

My cat Harry, a resident of nine years would not presume to inform you that he is a property owner. However, he does have a true vested interest in the lifestyle in this city. Harry, a most wise, credible and respectful cat, disapproves of some existing ordinances regarding his freedom and future ordinances that would upset him. And, he particularly dislikes outsiders. 

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 3, Posted 8:36 PM, 02.06.2010

Thanks for helping us reach our goal!

Dear Editor,

Please allow us to extend a huge THANK YOU to the entire community from Lake Erie Nature & Science Center! We are thrilled to report that our non-profit organization reached our year-end “Go Wild” campaign target of $25,000 in new and increased donations! That means The Kenneth A. Scott Charitable Trust will now match all of those wonderful contributions! This generous and crucial support for our non-profit mission will help us to continue to inspire appreciation for wildlife, nature and science for tens of thousands of children and adults each year through hands-on education and wildlife rehabilitation.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 2, Posted 11:34 AM, 01.22.2010

New Year's Wish

I would love to see Westlake and Bay Village work together to follow Lakewood's lead in taking advantage of Ohio's law that authorizes cities to offer special financing to residential and commercial property owners for solar energy projects within their borders. It might be possible to work with Lakewood to get this project moving faster. Lakewood's city government is developing their plan and timeframe, to be in place and ready by the end of the year. You can read more about this by visiting www.lakewoodobserver.com and reading the article "City Spurring Solar Energy Projects," by Glenn Campbell.

Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 1, Posted 3:12 PM, 01.06.2010

Bay teens deserve thanks

Dear Editor:

If you are looking for an example of courteous and friendly teens, you need look no further than the members of the Bay Village Key Club and the singing group, Choraleers. On Wednesday, November 11th, the West Shore Senior Center (located in the Knickerbocker Apartments) held a Spaghetti Dinner Fundraiser to provide the necessary funding for programs for local seniors.

Volunteers from the Key Club offered to help with the event and did they ever! This amazing group of teens helped out in all aspects of the evening and were a vital component to the success of the night. It was clear to everyone in attendance that this group of teens were dedicated to service and took pride in what they set out to do. All agreed the event would not have been as wonderful without their help.

Read Full Story
Volume 1, Issue 7, Posted 2:20 PM, 11.12.2009

Westlake Kiwanis thank public

The Westlake Kiwanis would like to thank Westlake and surrounding communities for making their recent pancake breakfast a success. The funds from their pancake breakfasts support projects throughout Westlake and surrounding communities.  
Read Full Story
Volume 1, Issue 7, Posted 10:22 PM, 11.09.2009

Vote NO on Issue 2 this November

Voting no on Issue 2 is critical to defend our freedom and the free market system.

A yes vote on Issue 2 would amend the Ohio constitution and create a Farm Care Standards Board. What it means for Ohio is that a Board not selected by voters will decide what we eat, how food is produced, including factory farming methods, drugs or chemicals used, and cloning;  treatment of animals, and the safety and quality of the food supply.

Read Full Story
Volume 1, Issue 4, Posted 7:58 PM, 10.02.2009

Westlake Hunger Project a Huge Success

I appreciate your paper’s efforts to keep voters informed on all community issues. I am happy to report that the St. Paul Thrivent Hearts Helping Hunger Campaign for the Westlake Assistance Program reached its goal of raising $1500 with a $500 supplement by the Northwest Cuyahoga County Chapter of Thrivent Financial for Lutherans.

Read Full Story
Volume 1, Issue 3, Posted 1:53 PM, 09.22.2009