Westlake city officials sworn in during organizational meeting

From left: Mark Getsay (Ward 6), Amy Havelka (Ward 5), Michael O'Donnell (Ward 4), Mayor Dennis Clough, Dave Greenspan (Council President), Dennis Sullivan (Ward 3), Nick Nunnari (Ward 2), Duane Van Dyke (Ward 1) and Law Director Michael Maloney.

The City of Westlake formally welcomed its new and returning City Council representatives during an organizational meeting Monday, Jan. 3, at City Hall.

The meeting featured the swearing in of newly-elected President of Council David Greenspan, as well as the newly-elected representatives Duane Van Dyke (Ward 1) and Amy Havelka (Ward 5).

Returning Council representatives were also sworn in during the ceremony, including Nick Nunnari (Ward 2), Dennis Sullivan (Ward 3), Michael O’Donnell (Ward 4) and Mark Getsay (Ward 6). Clerk of Council Denise Rosenbaum and Law Director Michael Maloney were also sworn in to continue to serve in their respective roles with the City of Westlake.

Council President Greenspan also named the standing committees during the meeting and appointed Councilperson Van Dyke to be City Council’s representative on the Westlake Planning Commission. A recording of this meeting is available on-demand via the Westlake Community Access Channel.

The meeting began with a Presentation of Colors by St. Bernadette Boy Scout Troop 225 and a performance of the national anthem by the Westlake High School Singers. 

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Adelaide Aquilla, who competed in the 2021 Olympic Games and was named Ohio State University’s Female Athlete of the Year. Her father accepted an official Proclamation from the City on her behalf in July, commemorating her athletic accomplishments.

Mayor Dennis Clough was formally sworn in for his 10th mayoral term by Governor Mike DeWine on Thursday, Dec. 30, in Columbus. Judge Shannon Gallagher ceremoniously administered the oath of office to Mayor Clough on New Year’s Day at City Hall and he was officially certified at the Jan. 3 meeting.

"The recent success that has come to the City of Westlake is because of the working relationship that we’ve had as an administration and a City Council to do what’s best for the community as a whole,” Mayor Clough said during the meeting. “We’ve really built this community into something that we all can be proud of and one of the most desirable communities in Cuyahoga County."

Mayor Clough also credited the contributions of volunteers serving on various committees and commissions for their part in making the City a better place to live and work.

The City of Westlake is grateful to the following judges who administered the oath of office during the meeting: The Honorable Judge John J. Russo (Greenspan, Getsay, Havelka, Maloney); the Honorable Judge Cornelius J. O’Sullivan (Van Dyke); the Honorable Judge Diane M. Palos (Nunnari); the Honorable Justice Terrence O’Donnell (Michael O’Donnell – Note: They are brothers).

Robert Rozboril

I handle Public Relations matters and website content for the City of Westlake.

Read More on Westlake
Volume 14, Issue 2, Posted 10:11 AM, 01.18.2022